My review of The Insect Farm by Stuart Prebble

This is the first book by this new author. It is a psychological thriller written as a story told from the viewpoint of Jonathan.  In summary, the Maguire brothers each have their own driving, single-minded obsession. For Jonathan, it is his magnificent, talented, and desirable wife, Harriet. For Roger, it is the elaborate universe he has constructed in a shed in their parents’ garden, populated by millions of tiny insects. While Jonathan’s pursuit of Harriet leads him to feelings of jealousy and anguish, Roger’s immersion in the world he has created reveals a capability and talent which are absent from his everyday life.  Roger is known to all as a loving, protective, yet simple man, but the ever-growing complexity of the insect farm suggests that he is capable of far more than anyone believes. Following a series of strange and disturbing incidents, Jonathan begins to question every story he has ever been told about his brother–and if he has so completely misjudged Roger’s mind, what else might he have overlooked about his family, and himself? As the accidents at home multiply and tragedy strikes, a startling picture emerges. One of these brothers is a killer, and the other has no idea.  The book is well written but it did not grip me, I continued reading the book as I was given this as a review copy but I think I may have given up if I wasn’t asked for my honest opinion. The book did dip in the middle but I am glad that I persisted as it did build up pace towards the end. For me there were too many questions left unanswered.  3 stars from me.

cover63919-medium

Leave a Reply

