My review of The Fisherman’s Lily by Suzanne Spiegoski

Wow, just wow – I really loved this book – it was fast paced and right up my street – I love crime and serial killer thrillers and this one did not disappoint.

I was genuinely delighted when I was contacted by the author and asked if I wanted to review this book for her in exchange for an honest review.  I read the blurb and immediately knew I wanted to read it. I love books that are based in areas that I have visited too as I feel they come more to life in my imagination and I loved reading this knowing I’ve been where the characters are walking.

The blurb – When Lily Dietz, an ambitious yet short-tempered Asian-American NYC homicide detective, and longtime partner John Fremont begin to work a unique but gruesome murder case, cryptic clues in the evidence start to link with Lily’s dark and troubling past—one deeply imprinted with many psychological and emotional issues.

Borderline manic-depressive and a self-destructive alcoholic, Lily is strikingly beautiful and spoiled by her younger brother, CJ, a NBA All-Star basketball Knicks player, due to guilt uprooting from their own family history; separations of heart-wrenching losses and disappointments. The hunt for the killer escalates when the detectives discover more than one murder. Someone with cruel and twisted intentions motivated by a taste for sophistication yet also depravity is targeting and brutally mutilating Asian-American women. And somehow, the murderer knows Lily far too well.

Soon the game of cat-and-mouse becomes a thrilling chase from beginning to end, where Lily’s reality and the people in it begin to doubt her, not only as a detective but as a person. Who will be able to save this damaged soul? Or who will be the one to destroy it?

There are brilliant twists and turns that kept me gripped, it is genuinely a page turner.  I found Lily to be a really strong character that held the book throughout, the supporting characters allow the book to progress so well, I wish I was able to write a book of such good quality.  The writing style was great and it just flowed.

Will definitely be looking out for more books from this author in future.  It was a pleasure to read.

24622133

Leave a Reply

