My review of Journey to Death by Leigh Russell

I am fairly new to Leigh Russell’s books and this is the first that I have read, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed.

The blurb – Lucy Hall arrives in the Seychelles determined to leave her worries behind. The tropical paradise looks sun-soaked and picture-perfect—but as Lucy soon discovers, appearances can be very deceptive. A deadly secret lurks in the island’s history, buried deep but not forgotten. And it is about to come to light.  As black clouds begin to gather over what promised to be a relaxing family break, Lucy realises that her father stands in the eye of the coming storm. A shadow from his past is threatening to destroy all that he holds dear—including the lives of his loved ones. 

A dark truth is about to explode into their lives, and that truth is going to hit them right between the eyes….

For me the book built up a bit too slowly, I am more a fan of faster paced books that grip me from the start but this one soon gathered its pace about half way through and I read from 40% onwards in one sitting.  For me, Lucy was a great character, without spoilers I wanted to smack her dad in the face!! Aside from that I thought that one of the characters was involved in the plot, but they weren’t and there were quite a few twists that I didn’t see coming, overall it was really enjoyable and an excellent introduction for me to this author.

I will certainly be looking to read Leigh Russell’s back catalogue and any future releases if this is anything to go by – 4 stars from me, I just wish the pace at the end of the book had been the pace at the start and it would have definitely been 5 stars from me.

This book is due out on 9th February – get it on your wish list, or pre-order your copy now!!

26209563

 

Leave a Reply

