My review of Last Kiss Goodnight by Teresa Driscoll

I must admit I was delighted when I was given the opportunity to get my hands on a review copy of Teresa Driscoll’s new book from her publishers Bookouture.  I haven’t read any of her other work before but had heard excellent reviews from her previous book “Recipes for Melissa” so I was keen to get stuck in to what I knew was likely to be a tough subject from the tag line to draw you in –

I stroked the top of my baby’s head and whispered to him gently that I would find a way. I will not let them take you…

The blurb- Once upon a time Kate’s life was full of love and smiles and laughter. A time where she dared to dream and hope. But then her perfect family unit is shattered in the most unthinkable way. And now Kate is silently and steadily falling apart.  When she meets Martha, Kate recognizes a kindred spirit. Martha is searching for a lost love; tragedy has touched her life too. Why are they so inexplicably drawn to one another? And why are they both keeping secrets about their pasts?  As Kate and Martha are forced to face the painful memories they’d each locked away, can they save each other and learn to live again?

The scene is set immediately with a letter to Martha and it leads on at a steady pace from there.  I had guessed part of the story line but the book was in no means predictable, there were still a few twists I didn’t expect but I was really pleased that the ending was what I hoped for.  The author really made me feel for her characters and I hope to never be in their positions.  She has handled tough heart breaking subjects with the care and detail needed.  I really enjoyed it and it stayed with me afterwards knowing how true so much of it was and could be.  5 stars from me and I look forward to more from Teresa in the future.

The book was released on 25th March 2016 in the UK so you can grab your copy now!

28935210

 

Leave a Reply

