My review of And Then There Were Three: Sixty-Seven Letters to Sasha by Julia G. Fox

As anyone who is friends with me, or follows me on Facebook will know, I got behind with my book reviews and ended up with over a dozen books that I needed to review.  I have not just the reviews but also blog posts and cover reveals to get sorted – I am finally getting up to date and I can only apologise to Julia G. Fox for not getting this one posted sooner – I am determined to be more organised, less reading, more writing the reviews is needed!

I was given the opportunity to read a copy of “And Then There Were Three: Sixty-Seven Letters to Sasha” by the lovely Rachel at Smith Publicity.  I was immediately intrigued, I have a lot of friends that fall under LGBT and I know this has been a talking point for them but I will openly admit, I knew a bit about the subject, but not a lot.  When gay marriage was legalized in the United States on June 26, 2015, it appeared as though the last major hurdle for LGBT rights was finally overcome. While this is a major milestone in the journey for equal rights, there is still a long way to go before global tolerance can be achieved.
This book is an autobiographical memoir which documents the challenges that still face members of the LGBT community, especially those in countries where being homosexual is still considered an abnormality – it is horrific what some people have to go through just for falling in love with what is deemed by their governments to be the wrong person.

Fox has put together a moving collection of letters to the man who opened her eyes to a new perspective on love and tolerance and she gives you an honest look into her experiences with a less traditional type of relationship.

​The memoir chronicles the reunion of her husband, George, with his former lover from college, Sasha—a man living a double life in a culture where his homosexuality could result in imprisonment or worse. As Sasha enters their life, both husband and wife must learn to navigate and explore the challenges and complexities of a polyamorous reality together against a backdrop of cultural and societal expectations and judgments. It is a brilliant personal reflection that examines the dynamic and often challenging elements of marriage, relationships, and acceptance, as well as the nature of love itself.

​The letter are short at times but the meaning and content is still all there for you to read.  I wasn’t sure what to make of the book at the outset as I try to read books without looking at any other comments but as soon as I got in to this one I read it in just a couple of hours – I don’t like rating memoirs on their content and normally go for the layout and writing style-for me this one was one of the best I have read in so few pages – very highly recommended.

27110180

 

 

Leave a Reply

