My review of Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley

I have to admit that I am a HUGE fan of the Tudor period and a HUGE fan of Dr Lucy Worsley so when I found out that she had written her debut children’s novel and it was based in the Tudor Court I knew I had to get my hands on a copy, and I was lucky enough to be given an advanced review copy by the publishers.

I would often wonder about my future husband. A knight? A duke? A stable boy?
Of course the last was just a wicked fancy.

Eliza Rose Camperdowne is young and headstrong, but she knows her duty well. As the only daughter of a noble family, she must one day marry a man who is very grand and very rich.  But Fate has other plans. When Eliza becomes a maid of honour, she’s drawn into the thrilling, treacherous court of Henry the Eighth . . .  Is her glamorous cousin Katherine Howard a friend or a rival?  And can a girl choose her own destiny in a world ruled by men?

I have read quite a few books, both fiction and non fiction that cover the Tudor period and I have to say that this book is one of the best that I have read.  I loved Eliza, her personality and spirit.  The descriptions used in the book were great and they really drew you in to make you feel part of the story which does have a few twists.  I do hope that there are more fiction works to come from Lucy, she certainly has a great writing style, develops characters that are engaging and a plot that turns in to a page turner – bliss for me – 5 stars

You can now grab your copy as the book is released on 7th April 2016!!

51QrdxIAEUL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Leave a Reply

