Book Blast for The Suffragette Takes a Husband by Linda Gilman

LindaGilman_TourBadge.jpg

THE SUFFRAGETTE TAKES A HUSBAND by Linda Gilman is a witty, playful, fun tale of two opposites attracting in a time and place where the lives of men and women couldn’t be more different. In this second book by humorous historical romance author, Linda Gilman, a proud Pinkerton tangles with one stubborn Suffragette. Parker Reams, wants revenge. Callidora Truworthy, wants independence. In this battle of the sexes it comes down to one thing: does a fake engagement have any hope of becoming a real relationship?

Join Linda Gilman and the Killion Group as we celebrate the release of The Suffragette Takes a Husband with this 13 stop Book Blast from April 18th to the 22nd. Included in this book blast is exclusive content, a spotlight of the book, reviews, guest post, an interview, and a giveaway. One GRAND PRIZE WINNER will receive a $25 Amazon gift card and a SIGNED copy of The Courtship of Utopia Miner!  http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/467d138c46/?

I am absolutely delighted to be the first stop on the book blast tour for Linda Gilman’s new book, The Suffragette takes a Husband, the second book in the Gold Rush Brides series, I have posted an interview with Linda and an excerp from the book too! 

“In this humorous western romance, a proud Pinkerton tangles with one stubborn Suffragette. He wants revenge. She wants independence. In this battle of the sexes it comes down to one thing. Does a fake engagement have any hope of becoming a real relationship? Pinkerton agent, Parker Reams, is stuck in Nebraska without a horse, and he’s flat broke. Parker is prepared to stow away in a boxcar headed west to track and kill the men who murdered his brother. Out of the blue, a stranger offers Parker traveling money and free passage to South Pass City, Wyoming, that’s the very town where the gang he’s after is headed. To repay the stranger for his generosity, Parker agrees to track down the man’s fiancée and break off an unwanted engagement. Meeting with this fiancée should only take a day and be but a brief delay in his plan of revenge. Callidora Truworthy is an independent woman with her mind set on being single. To end her father’s matchmaking, Callidora has hired an actor to pose as a horrible fiancé. The scrawny man in her tintype photo arrives on today’s stage. Based on looks alone, she’s sure her father’s going to dislike him. She has quite a shock when a rugged, sexy, six foot of strapping cowboy shows up as her fiancé. This man’s all wrong for the part of her fiancé. There’s no refund on a plan such as hers, and it’s too late to request a replacement actor. She’ll just have to coach this macho cowboy into acting more like a wimp and hope for the best. What happens when a perfect plan gets a tangled twist? All hell breaks loose.”

 

I have posted an excerpt from the book below

About time he showed up.” The sheriff tucked his napkin in his shirt collar. “Now we can eat.”

Callie halted mid-sip of her wine. “What?”

I said we can eat. Hector finally decided to show up.” Dan whistled. “And just look at him. Why, yer feller’s dressed as cocky as the king of spades.”

Since her back faced the entrance, Callie had to turn around in her chair to have a look. The minute her eyes spotted him, stunned disbelief choked off her airway. Parker slowly strutted to the table like he had all the time in the world to show off his good looks. Black trousers clung on the man’s muscled torso in a totally captivating manner, accentuating his long legs.

His shoulder-length hair was now short and slightly curling at the collar of his white shirt. She sure liked those curls. That scruff of sandpaper beard had been removed, but he’d left some short sideburns. The clean-shaven look only served to make his bronze eyes more appealing.

Callidora knew there was absolutely nothing you could do to the man to make him a dandy. Parker had rough, dangerous looks, a man to die for through and through. He gave her a dimpled smile. She quickly chugged her wine, spun back around to the table and grabbed the bottle for a refill.

A manly scent of sandalwood wrapped around her senses when he stepped beside her. Callie’s nerves were so on edge, the rim of the bottle rattled on her glass. Parker slid his hand over the top of hers and assisted her with the pouring. His touch pushed the shakes in her hand into full blown quakes which rippled through her body at breakneck speed. He took the bottle from her and placed it back on the table.

 

My interview with the lovely Linda Gilman is below:

A1n2J1W2aOL._UX250_

What gave you the idea to write this book?

The initial idea for “The Suffragette Takes A Husband” came as all my story ideas do. A flash of a silly thought popped in my head. I pictured a lawman that had to don a disguise as a woman to investigate a gang of thieves. My feeling was that particular idea had been done quite a number of times. So I decided to twist my idea further. The more I twisted the notion of a lawman desperate for a way to catch up with the gang that murdered his brother, the picture of a gal with an equally desperate goal emerged.

I asked myself: What kind of woman in historical times would be so motivated to have her independence that she’d fake an engagement to stop her matchmaking father from pressuring her to marry? Bam. A Suffragette popped in my mind and the story took off.

Why did you choose this genre?

The Wild West has been my favorite subject since I was a youngster. In fact, if a person had a choice about what era you are born in, or if you could live in any time you wished, I’d want to go back to the years between 1850 and 1920 in the American West.

Yes, it was a harsh life, but at the same time it was an amazing era. A time when the government was giving away a 140 acres to anyone that wanted to live in Oklahoma, a time when in home lighting, the telephone, a car, a plane were invented. All these things became possible during this time in history. It wasn’t the fact that we had a faster gadget or app on a cell phone—it was amazingly the first phone ever made. That would wow anybody’s socks off.

Back then—the American dream really existed on a big grand scale. Gold was lying in creeks and streams ready for the taking. Oil was just below the surface waiting to be tapped to fuel the cars. Ingenuity became the benchmark of success. Cowboys were the epitome of rugged and macho. (Not to mention they were the “hotties” of their era and still are today.)

Don’t put me in a plane. I hate flying.

Pack my bags and shove them in a covered wagon. I want to go on a real adventure.

Did you have to do much research to cover a historical period?

In high school, American History happened to be my favorite subject and that appeal has never waned. I am constantly doing research for my books, much online, but my favorite way to be immersed in a specific year in history is to read print books and newspaper articles from that period. I don’t specifically drop in tons of description in my narratives for I am more a dialogue writer, but hopefully, my research allows me to paint a picture of unusual characters taken from actual person accounts I’ve studied.

I want to give the reader a clear sense of the western landscape and towns of which I’m writing in the most accurate way possible. Therefore, I often research the flowers, grasses and trees of a region, the mountains, streams and size of a particular town I choose for a setting. I research if a devastating event occurred in the time and place I’m placing my story, for this may very well be something I put in my story. Or that may be the very reason I cannot place my characters in that setting.

What is your favorite historical period?

My favorite historical period is the gold rush period in the American West from 1849 to 1900. My first two books were focused on gold rush towns in Colorado and Wyoming. The notion of people traveling thousands of miles by covered wagon, through hostile Indian territories and harsh conditions, this all fascinates me. That there were very hardy women willing to leave the comforts of a home and their family behind and venture west with their husbands with no idea what they were getting into, that is even more interesting.

What period in history would you want to write about in the future?

I’m leaning toward trying to move into the 1920’s for a book. I am fascinated by the notion of bootlegging, prohibition and all the problems that created. I took a road trip with my sister to Little Rock Arkansas to investigate the Gangster Museum. It was great information. You wouldn’t believe how heavy a Tommy gun is.

The public TV series, “Downton Abbey” kind of got me hooked on the clothing. And I’ve recently watched some films that sparked my interest in WWI and woman spies. Add to the mix, the hardships of the depression and this era is getting more of my attention. Possibly a focus of one of my books in the near future.

But since I’m a comedic writer, in some way I’d have to find a way to put a humorous spin on many of the traumatic events that occurred in this era. Bootlegging would probably be the easiest way to write a humorous story set in the 1920’s.

What other books do you have planned or in the pipeline?

I’m currently working on a third book which will be the first book in a new series “The Visiting Ghost Series.” It is a humorous paranormal historical western romance series with the first novel set in Corsicana, Texas in 1893, around the first oil drilling.

The central character that runs through this series is a cowboy ghost, named Zeke Kurry. After playing poker and dying at the hands of a card sharp, Zeke finds himself aimlessly wandering in Purgatory. Zeke comes upon a mansion in this voided sphere and enters the building. There he meets Mrs. Saint Peter (who is filling in for her husband and the duties of being the pearly gate guardian.)  Mrs. Saint Peter informs ghost Zeke that he has some atonement to do before he’ll be allowed to enter Heaven and be able to spend eternity with his angel wife Lou Ellen. Zeke’s penance for his sins of failing to be a proper father involves visiting each of his children he randomly fathered out of wedlock after his wife Lou Ellen had passed away.
Zeke’s duty in each book will be to find one of his children that he failed to be a father to. He must help solve a problem in that offspring’s life. Since he’s a ghost communication is a problem for Zeke that be must overcome. Only a rare few living souls are capable of seeing and communicating with ghosts. Zeke must find such a person that he can talk to in order to be able to help his mistakenly fatherless children with their earthly difficulties.

In the first book, Zeke is now on his first Heaven sent mission to visit a daughter he never knew he had.  Addie Baker is a widow who is about to lose her ranch due to bank foreclosure and that will leave her and her five adopted children without a roof over their heads.
Through trial and error, Zeke finds a living person capable of seeing and hearing him.  Luke Hammond is a banker that is president of the bank holding Addie’s loan. Zeke thinks he’s one easy street now. All he must do is get the banker to forestall foreclosure. The problem lies in trying to convince Luke he’s a ghost. He must somehow force this Luke to help him with his daughter’s foreclosure problem.

Zeke uses certain unorthodox tactics, and turns Luke into a pauper, forcing the reluctant banker to agree to help Addie with her mortgage problem before Zeke will agree to return Luke to his prior rich life.

If you’d like to sign up for my “New Release Newsletter” to keep abreast of when this book will be released, please go to my website: www.lindagilman.com


What tips would you give to any aspiring writer?

Get serious about your writing. Don’t just talk about I’m writing a book, or I plan to write a book. Sit down and do it.

My first experience at trying to become a writer went terribly wrong. I had signed up for an evening writing class being offered at a local college. In this class the rules were simple. First and foremost, write then bring it to class and at some point read it aloud. Second rule, if you critique someone’s work you need to be kind when doing so.

It took me several classes to finally get up the nerve to read aloud in this classroom of strangers. I had barely progressed to reading my second page when one person in the classroom shouted, “Stop. Stop. I can’t stand no more.”

There was a moment of total shock. I felt a red lava surge of heat to my face. It was explained to me that my writing was all telling and no showing the reader (or in this case the listener) what the characters were doing.

It was a totally embarrassing moment. One I went home and had tears over. I had two choices at this juncture. I could either be hurt, disgruntled in my writing and give up the notion of completing a book, or take the comments and this harsh advice to heart and develop a tough skin for criticism. I have since learned that’s what you need in order to become a better writer.

The points I’m trying to make are these:

  • Writing is hard.
  • The first stuff you put on the page is junk.
  • There are things you learn along the way.
  • If you write everyday and read aloud to others you get better.
  • There are a lot of critics and not everyone will like your style of writing so take comments with a grain of salt. Use what works for you.
  • Be kind with your critiques of others work and you’ll receive in kind.
  • And most important, keep the faith you can do it. You are a writer.

 

About Linda Gilman:

Historical western romance author Linda Gilman’s outrageous novels are vivid depictions of Gold Rush era saloon girls and cowboys that are delighting fans around the globe. The colorful books are full of humorous, independent heroines and wisecracking characters. Linda has become a distinctive voice with her funny stories and quirky historical tales.

Connect with Linda: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon

LindaGilman_TheSuffragetteTakesAHusband_HR.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

