My review of Play Dead by Angela Marsons

The dead don’t tell secrets… unless you listen.

The girl’s smashed-in face stared unseeing up to the blue sky, soil spilling out of her mouth. A hundred flies hovered above the bloodied mess.

Oh my goodness, I do love a good crime thriller and for me Angela Marson has created an excellent series starring Kim Stone – it is one of the best series that is around at the moment.

“Westerley research facility is not for the faint-hearted. A ‘body farm’ investigating human decomposition, its inhabitants are corpses in various states of decay. But when Detective Kim Stone and her team discover the fresh body of a young woman, it seems a killer has discovered the perfect cover to bury their crime.

Then a second girl is attacked and left for dead, her body drugged and mouth filled with soil. It’s clear to Stone and the team that a serial killer is at work – but just how many bodies will they uncover? And who is next?

As local reporter, Tracy Frost, disappears, the stakes are raised. The past seems to hold the key to the killer’s secrets – but can Kim uncover the truth before a twisted, damaged mind claims another victim …?”

When I saw that this book was coming out, I knew I had to get my hands on a copy – could she really emulate the other three Stone books that I had given 5 stars too?? Well, quite simply – yes!!  This book was excellent!!

I love the character that Angela Marsons has created in Kim Stone, she has a secretive personality and we are just starting to get glimpses of her past life.  The writing style in this book flows and it just builds the story up with the right amount of suspense.

I really enjoyed this book and with this latest instalment we get to see a glimpse of another side to Kim which I hope will be explored in future novels.  This one can be read as a stand alone too.  For me this was another 5 star smash and I am already looking forward to the next one having seen a sneak peak earlier in the week of some of the lines coming up – can’t wait!!

29543952

Leave a Reply

