My review of Ten Birthdays by Kerry Wilkinson

“There are going to be so many things I wish I could’ve told you in person, Poppy. I won’t get the chance to do that, so perhaps this is my only way…”

It’s Poppy Kinsey’s birthday.  She should be blowing out candles and opening presents – but hers falls on the type of heart-wrenching, agonising anniversary she would far rather forget.  The worst day of them all. The day her mother died.  But this year is special because the person she misses most in the world has left her a set of letters, one for each of her next ten birthdays.  As Poppy opens them year by year, she discovers that no matter how tough life gets, her mum will always be by her side, guiding her along the way.

I have read quite a few of Kerry Wilkinson’s books in the crime and police procedural genre so I was interested to see if he could make the switch to another genre.  I started the book with an open mind and I have to honestly say I thoroughly enjoyed it!  I loved the concept of the letters that Poppy received and I also enjoyed that each chapter of the book was a new chapter in the years of her life.  It was written really well and I found myself really looking forward to reading the next chapter and hoping that she got the happy ending that she deserved.  Its a lovely book and I highly recommend it – 5 stars from me.  Definitely one I’d recommend and the book is released today so you can grab your copy now!

34533277

Leave a Reply

