My review of The Orphan of India by Sharon Maas

Today I am delighted to be kicking off the Blog Tour for the brand new book from Sharon Maas – The Orphan of India – for me it was a simply magical read that really played on my heartstrings – it was such a beautiful book, I loved it.

Sharon Maas Blog Tour Banner

A beautiful, unforgettable tale of a young girl torn between two lives…  Monika and Jack Kingsley are desperate for a child of their own. On a trip to India, they fall in love with Jyothi: a small, shy girl, whose family has been ruined by poverty.

Jyothi has been living on the streets of Bombay, seeking comfort in the music she hears around her. When her mother is involved in a tragic accident, Jack and Monika are determined to adopt the orphan child.

Eventually they return to England, but Jyothi finds it difficult to adapt to her new home. She feels more alone than ever and music becomes her solace once more. Even when Jyothi’s extraordinary musical talent transforms into a promising career, she still doesn’t feel like she belongs.   Then a turbulent love affair causes her to question everything. And Jyothi realises that before she can embrace her future, she must confront her past…

The Orphan of India is an utterly evocative and heart-wrenching novel that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Santa Montefiore and Diane Chamberlain.

I simply adored this book, it was beautifully written and I loved it from the start and felt even a little bereft when it had ended.  The story flows and I loved the loss and hope, promise and future aspects that were running throughout.  It really did draw me in and I cannot recommend this book highly enough – I tend to read a lot of crime and thrillers at the moment and picking up a book like this really does make my day – absolutely no hesitation in giving this book 5 stars.  The book is released today so you can grab your copy now.

UK 🇬🇧 US 🇺🇸

35249586

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s