My review of Enter the Dark by Chris Thomas

An anonymous website, a few clicks, and Joe Henderson’s life is changed forever.

‘The Red Room’ is the only place where the failings of a weak justice system are righted and where the line between good and evil becomes blurred. When the lights go up, viewers bid, criminals are punished, and the Brotherhood of the Righteous broadcasts a show like no other.

The room has remained hidden until now, when a video arrives in the inbox of the Metropolitan Police Cyber Crime Unit. But outclassed, outplayed, and torn apart by corruption, is there anything Detective Pete Harris and his team can do except watch?

Their only lead may be the room’s latest bidder, Joe Henderson. Because when Joe found the Red Room, it found him too, and now the Brotherhood are watching through the wires, willing to do wrong for a righteous cause.

As they pull Joe deeper into the dark web, will he find any mercy or a way out? And could he be the Red Room’s next volunteer?

Oh my goodness, I loved this book!!  I loved the story and I thought that the plot was great, very complex and clearly a lot of research went it to writing the book!  As soon as I started reading it, I initially thought that the Brotherhood was along the same lines as the 1980s classic film that my husband loves – The Running Man – but getting slightly further in to the book it quite quickly became obvious that they were so much more than that.  It is a very dark book, and it won’t be for everyone, but I personally loved it – it was disturbing and quite graphic in places but I think that is what really made the story and it is very in keeping with the book overall.  I made the rookie mistake of thinking I would just read a few chapters and pick it up the following day, but found myself reading late in to the night as I wanted to see how it would end, I wasn’t disappointed – definitely a 5 star read for me and very highly recommended!!

35469476

Leave a Reply

