My review of The Forgotten Family of Liverpool by Pam Howes

Today is my stop on the blog tour for the brilliant new book from Pam Howes, The Forgotten Family of Liverpool!

Forgotten Family of Liverpool Blog Tour

The war is over – but are their troubles just beginning? It’s 1951 and rationing is finally coming to an end. But while Liverpool is recovering from the ferocity of war, a family is about to be torn apart…

Dora Rodgers is adjusting to a new life in Liverpool with her young daughters Carol and Jackie. After the fear of the war years and a difficult break up with her husband Joe, Dora is finally building a future with her children.

But then an unexpected knock at the door rips her family in two.

To Dora’s horror, Carol is taken away by a welfare officer to live with Joe. She is determined to fight for her child, but when a tragic accident leaves her mother in hospital, and shocking news from Joe breaks her heart again, she struggles to cope.

With her family in pieces and her marriage over for good, will Dora ever manage to get her daughter Carol home where she belongs?

I thought that this book was simply superb, I really adored it and it most definitely pulled on my heart strings! I loved the plot and was hooked on the story from the first few pages, I wanted to know more about the characters and where the story was going – how was this family going to cope and would they get the ending I wanted for them?  I wasn’t disappointed at all and I am so glad that I picked this book up, definitely one that I would highly recommend – no hesitation in giving the book 5 stars!!  This is the second in the trilogy and can easily be read as a stand alone (I haven’t read the first book yet but will be picking that one up shortly to get the full story on this fascinating family, ready for reading the third instalment in the series when it is released!)

The-Forgotten-Family-of-Liverpool-Kindle

 

 

Leave a Reply

