My review of Devil’s Kitchen by Stephen Puleston

A tragic accident?

When two bodies are found sprawled at the bottom of the Devil’s Kitchen in the mountains of Snowdonia, it’s believed the man found dead killed his wife and then committed a suicide. But something doesn’t feel right to DI Ian Drake and his gut instinct has never let him down before.

Or murder on a mountain?

Drake suspects at least one of the deaths could be suspicious, but who would kill such an ordinary couple and why? This might be Drake’s first murder inquiry, but his years as a detective have taught him one thing – every murder has a motive, and every killer leaves a trace.

We go on holiday to North Wales on a regular basis and I do love reading a book set in a location known to me so when I saw that this novella was free and set where we go in Snowdonia I knew I had to read it!

I have read the first book in this series (Brass in Pocket) and gave that book 5 stars and this is the prequel novella – technically book 0.5 so I was interested to see how Drake dealt with his first murder case and how the relationship started with his team.  This was a really quick read that took me less than two hours.  The plot is good and it is easy to read – I enjoyed it – 4 stars from me!  Looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

You can grab your copy on the link below – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01DOB25I6/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_x_QwHJzbFG22VVB

29918358

 

 

Leave a Reply

