#BlogBlitz #Review for Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley @annaloulondon @bookouture #BlackHeart

Anna-Lou

There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Riley suspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry. 

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more? 

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds. 

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late? 

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter. 

Previously published as Last Cry.

 

MY REVIEW

Black Heart is the first book in the series introducing Detective Dan Riley.  I love trying out new crime series so I was really keen to get stuck in to this one especially after reading that blurb!

I thought that Dan was a really good character, he is struggling with personal grief as well as trying to crack his current cases and this for me made him a more rounded individual that I really sympathised with, his grief is quite evident at times in the book.

I enjoyed that we were thrown straight in to the story and the investigation and I loved the short punchy chapters – these are always a hit with me and I love the pace that they create to make sure you stay engaged.

Four stars from me for this one, I really enjoyed the plot, pace and the characters and I’m looking forward to the next book in the series!

Buy link: myBook.to/BHSocial

26993702_10155907812828376_1193645068932897497_n.jpg

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Anna-Lou ProfileAnna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.

Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture.

https://twitter.com/annaloulondon