#BlogBlitz #Review of The Little Cottage on the Hill by Emma Davies @EmDaviesAuthor @bookouture

Blog Banner - The Little Cottage on the Hill

There’s blossom in the trees and daffodils as far as the eye can see. Maddie is looking forward to a fresh start in the countryside, but there’s just one little problem…

Following a scandal at her high-flying PR agency, twenty-six-year-old Maddie flees London to help promote what she thinks is going to be a luxurious holiday retreat in the countryside. Everything is riding on her making a success of this new job…

Yet when she arrives, Maddie is horrified to find a rundown old farm in a terrible state. The brooding and secretive owner, Seth, spent all his money on leasing the land when he fell in love with the beautiful, dishevelled farm cottages and the very romantic story behind them.

When Maddie discovers an old oil painting by the original owner’s wife, she unlocks the secret of the farm’s history and quickly realises she must start getting her hands dirty if this very special place is going to have any chance of survival. As she and Seth begin working together, the stunning view from the top of the hill is not the only thing that’s leaving her breathless…

After weeks of hard work the dream looks like it might become a reality, until a secret from Maddie’s past threatens to snatch it all away again. Can Maddie find a way to save the business and herself? Will she finally find a place to keep her heart within the crumbling walls of the little cottage on the hill?

Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Debbie Johnson who are looking to escape to the countryside and fall in love watching the seasons change.

 

MY REVIEW

I love this author’s books so when I saw that she had a new book coming out I was really keen to get my hands on it – it has a gorgeous cover and after reading the blurb I knew it was going to be a book that I was going to enjoy having read some of Emma’s other books- well I can tell you I wasn’t disappointed at all and have given the book 5 stars!!

I love a good chick lit/romance book and Emma’s books have always been some of my go to reads in that genre – this one has everything I need to brighten my day – the plot was great, I loved the characters and the setting and the whole thing just flowed really well.

It is such an easy read that you can easily lose yourself in the story and be taken away to join Maddie in the story – I personally loved it and it is definitely a book that I am going to be recommending!

Buy link: myBook.to/TLCOTHSocial

ED Cover

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

After a varied career, Emma Davies once worked for a design studio where she was asked to provide a fun and humorous (and not necessarily true) anecdote for their website. She wrote the following: ‘I am a bestselling novelist currently masquerading as a thirty something mother of three.’ Well the job in the design studio didn’t work out but she’s now a forty something mother of three and is happy to report the rest of her dream came true.

Emma Davies Photo.jpgAfter many years as a finance manager she now writes full time, and is far happier playing with words than numbers. She lives with her husband, three children, and two guinea pigs in rural Shropshire where she writes in all the gaps in between real life. It’s a county she adores, her love of its beautiful people and landscapes providing endless inspiration for her books, and in fact the only thing that would make Shropshire more idyllic is if it were by the sea. 

Pop over to her website www.emmadaviesauthor.com where, amongst other things, you can read about her passion for Pringles and singing loudly in the car. You can also wave to her on twitter @EmDaviesAuthor or find her on Facebook (a little too often than is good for her).