#BlogTour #Review of Married Lies by Chris Collett @joffebooks @crime_crow @Books_n_all #MarriedLies

BLOG TOUR - Married Lies

Lucy Jarrett is terrified. Someone is watching her every move, following her home from work and making threatening phone calls. But her husband doesn’t believe her and no one else is listening.

Lucy’s married life is proving anything but blissful. Her musician husband is perpetually away on tour and doesn’t want to start a family.

Lucy finally calls on DI Tom Mariner for help, and he takes her fears seriously because of the recent murder of another young woman by her ex-partner.

Mariner himself is already on the hunt for a sadistic killer. Nina Silvero, wife of an ex-police officer, was duped into sipping sulphuric acid disguised as celebratory wine. Grappling with her apparently motiveless killing, Mariner delegates Lucy’s case to Millie Khatoon.  Is someone out for revenge against the police?

Can DI Tom Mariner track down the stalker and catch the killer before anyone else dies?

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fifth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

 

MY REVIEW

I enjoyed the plot in this one and it was great catching up with the characters!

The pace in this one was great and I really enjoyed the story, it is the fifth in the series but I would say that this one can easily be read as a stand alone.  I enjoyed the ending and the twist – I was trying to guess how the book would finish and it wasn’t like that!

Four stars from me, a great addition to the series!

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “STALKED BY SHADOWS.”

MARRIED LIES 2

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Chris Collett author photo jpgI was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to go in England without falling into the North Sea.

There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground).

I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981.

But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

One thought on “#BlogTour #Review of Married Lies by Chris Collett @joffebooks @crime_crow @Books_n_all #MarriedLies

Comments are closed.