#BlogTour #BookReview for The Story Keeper by Anna Mazzola @annecater @Anna_Mazz #TheStoryKeeper

The Story Keeper Blog Tour Poster .jpg

From the author of THE UNSEEING comes a sizzling, period novel of folk tales, disappearances and injustice set on the Isle of Skye, sure to appeal to readers of Hannah Kent’s BURIAL RITES or Beth Underdown’s THE WITCH FINDER’S SISTER.

‘A wonderful combination of a thrilling mystery and a perfectly depicted period piece’ Sunday Mirror

Audrey Hart is on the Isle of Skye to collect the word-of-mouth folk tales of the people and communities around her. It is 1857, the Highland Clearances have left devastation and poverty, and the crofters are suspicious and hostile, claiming they no longer know their stories. Then Audrey discovers the body of a young girl washed up on the beach and the crofters tell her that it is only a matter of weeks since another girl has disappeared. They believe the girls are the victims of the spirits of the unforgiven dead. Initially, Audrey is sure the girls are being abducted, but then she is reminded of her own mother, a Skye woman who disappeared in mysterious circumstances. It seems there is a link to be explored, and Audrey may uncover just what her family have been hiding from her all these years.

 

MY REVIEW

The cover of this book really drew me in and the blurb intruged me – having read the book I can tell you the cover is PERFECT for the story!

I knew I was off to a great start with The Story Keeper when I read the first few pages and was hooked. I thought that the story was brilliantly written, it had a great flow to it and it really gripped me. It was atmospheric and I love books set in this area too so it was a massive hit with me.

I thought that the characterisation was excellent and the characters worked so well with the storyline – it is definitely 5 stars from me, it is such a well written book, I loved the setting, I loved the characters and it is one I will be really highly recommending!!

The Story Keeper Cover

One thought on “#BlogTour #BookReview for The Story Keeper by Anna Mazzola @annecater @Anna_Mazz #TheStoryKeeper

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.