#BlogTour #Extract #BookReview for Sinner by Jacqui Rose #Sinner @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K @RoseThisIs

Sinner-Blog-Tour.jpg

Having been brought up amongst the hardest gangsters and faces of London, Franny Doyle learnt never to let love be her weakness. But she’ll do anything to protect those close to her, and at whatever cost.

Her partner Alfie Jennings is under pressure. The only person he ever sent down has recently been released from prison, and his Soho nightclub is under threat from his rival Charlie Eton – a man who doesn’t respond kindly to people taking away his business.

Charlie is playing dirty to come out on top, and when innocent children become involved in the feud, Franny and Alfie are dragged into a dark underworld where Alfie must face demons from his past, and Franny is in a dangerous race against time to ensure her own secrets aren’t exposed.

Betrayal and lies come with consequences, and old sins cast long shadows…

The heart-racing new thriller perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Martina Cole.

 

MY REVIEW

This is another excellent book from this author!!

I had been looking forward to read this one after I read the blurb, it sounded very good and having read the story now, I thought it was fantastic!!

The book is very well written, the pace is spot on and it had me completely gripped.  The characters are very well developed and I loved their interaction and Franny is a proper kick ass woman and I loved being able to catch backup with her.  This book runs on from Fatal, the author’s previous book so to get the most out of this one I would recommend you read Fatal first if you can although Sinner can be read as a standalone.

It is five stars from me for this one, I thoroughly enjoyed the story and it is definitely one that I will be recommending!!  Very highly recommended and already looking forward to her next releases!!

 

EXTRACT FROM THE BOOK!

And it’d been after one particular night when Charlie Eton was just twelve years old, when the friends his father had brought home – to join in with his perversions – had left, that Charlie had first heard his father call him a bastard. And it’d been a revelation to Charlie. Like listening to the sweetest music. He’d seen it as a coming of age. His own version of a bar mitzvah. Because that winter’s day in the cold, cramped, damp two-bedroom house he shared with his parents and four sisters, Charlie discovered that he too had power.

His father had been sprawled naked on top of one of his sisters whilst their mother drank herself into a stupor in the next room. Charlie had seen the fear in his father’s eyes as he held the coal fire’s burning red poker against his neck, and right then Charlie had understood that his father, the man he’d spent his whole life terrified and cowering from, could also be afraid. Could also be weak.

And the weakness exuding from his father had spurred Charlie on, exciting him. Making him feel alive. Making him feel worthy. Strong. Powerful . . . Untouchable. And for the first time in his life, Charlie had felt a glimmer of happiness. A glimmer of peace. And the more fear, the more weakness his father had shown him, the more it had encouraged Charlie to use his new-found courage to burn and blister his father’s flesh further, smelling the sizzling, stubbled skin mixed in with the smell of his father’s fear. Then it’d happened. The moment when the words, ‘You bastard,’ were screamed from his father’s lips and the moment Charlie Eton knew life would be different.

 

43525867