#BooksOnTour #BookReview for When We Were Brave by Suzanne Kelman @Bookouture #WhenWeWereBrave @suzkelman

When We Were Brave - Blog Tour

The face of the woman in the photograph was tilted upwards, as if enjoying the sunshine just for a moment, even as the wreckage of the bombed-out street lay behind her…

1944, Cornwall: Blinded by love, Vivienne Hamilton eloped to Paris with a Nazi prisoner-of-war, never to be seen again. A disgrace to her family, her name would not be mentioned by any of her relatives for over 75 years.

Present day, London: When Sophie discovers a photograph of her great aunt Vivi from World War Two, it throws her into a world of confusion. Because, as she learns about this secret relative, she quickly realises that the photograph doesn’t fit with her family’s story. It shows Vivi leaving an address associated with a spy network in London – a place she had no reason to be – and it is dated right before she disappeared.

Meanwhile Sophie’s own life feels as blasted and bombed as the blitzed city in the photograph she’s looking at. Her beautiful daughter – as full of joy and wild energy as Vivi had apparently once been – is gone; and Sophie’s heart has been left broken into pieces.

Retreating to the family home in rural Cornwall to seek solace from her pain and the feelings of guilt that she could have done more to protect her daughter, Sophie finds herself becoming obsessed with Vivi’s life.

But nothing can prepare Sophie for what she is about to uncover – the story of a woman who risked everything for the person she loved the most; and a secret family history that could be the key to Sophie’s own future.

A powerful, haunting and unforgettable read about love, heartbreak and betrayal set in Second World War Britain and France. Perfect for fans of The NightingaleUnder a Scarlet Sky and My Name is Eva.

MY REVIEW

I was really intrigued by the blurb for this book – and I do love that cover, it is striking and certainly stands out for me!

I had been looking forward to reading this one as I am having a bit of a binge on books set during World War II and this one was a delight!

I thought that the characters were well developed and the flow for the story was great, I loved the author’s writing style, it was perfectly suited to this style of book and she made it a pleasure to read.  It tugged my heart-strings at times and I really warmed to the main characters.  I love the conclusion to the book too.

It is 5 stars from me for this one, itr is very well written, the author’s attention to detail was spot on and the characters were well developed – very highly recommended!!

Buying Links:
Google Play: http://bit.ly/32afOGh
41k6ixQKU5L._SY346_
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
51W3jvaof6L._US230_Suzanne Kelman is a 2015 Academy of Motion Pictures Nicholl Finalist, Multi-Award-Winning Screenwriter and a Film Producer.
As well as working in film she is also an International Amazon Bestselling Fiction Author of the Southlea Bay Series – The Rejected Writers’ Book Club, Rejected Writers Take the Stage and The Rejected Writers’ Christmas Wedding.
Born in the United Kingdom, she now resides in Washington State.
Social Media Links
Twitter – @suzkelman