#BooksOnTour #BookReview for With Or Without You by Drew Davies @Drew_Davies @Bookouture #WithOrWithoutYou

With or Without You - Blog tour

‘How long does a coma last?’ I ask.

‘Days, weeks, months?’ the nurse replies with a shrug, although her eyes are very kind.

‘But on average?’

She just smiles, unable to give me an answer.

Wendy’s life can be neatly divided into two: before and after.

Before her husband’s car accident, it was just the two of them. They never took the train at rush hour, and they avoided their noisy neighbour upstairs. Naveem devoted his spare time to vintage train models, and Wendy to re-reading the well-thumbed pages of her favourite books. It didn’t matter what others thought about their small, quiet life together – they were happy.

After the coma, Wendy barely recognises herself. When she’s not holding the love of her life’s hand, accompanied by the beep of the life-support machine, who is she? The nurse tells her to talk to Naveem – that he can still hear her – but she doesn’t have a single thing to say.

Suddenly Wendy can’t bear the silence. She needs something, anything, to talk to Naveem about. Suddenly she’s losing herself at fairgrounds packed with crowds and candyfloss, she’s at the airport, waiting for the whoosh of the planes as they take off, making friends with the neighbour she has spent over a decade avoiding.

Knowing that every breath her husband takes might be his last, Wendy has no choice but to try to carry on without him. Should she feel guilty about living while his life is on pause? And when – if – he wakes up, will he still love the woman she has become?

This poignant, moving and uplifting tale is for anyone who has taken life for granted, neglected to say ‘I love you’ to their loved ones, or forgotten to find happiness in the little things. Perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and Jojo Moyes.

 

MY REVIEW

I really enjoyed this book and it was a great story.

I loved the characters in the story, they were well developed and I really warmed to them from the outset.  At times they made me giggle, I went through a few different emotions with them and that really surprised me as I didn’t expect to feel so much as I was reading.  I thoroughly enjoyed how Wendy and Naveem’s story was told – there is a great cast of supporting characters too.

It was a nice and steady read and that is really meant as a compliment as it was spot on for this book.  The book is well written and I loved the pace of the story.

The story had a lovely natural flow to it and it was a book that caught my attention and I really lost time in the evening when I was reading – it was a great escape for me and I really do thank the author for that!

It is 4 stars from me for this one, I really enjoyed it and it is certainly one I am going to be recommending too – another great read from Drew Davies!  Highly recommended!

Buy Links:
With-or-Without-You-Kindle
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Drew Davies (author 1)Drew Davies was born in London and grew up in Whanganui, New Zealand.
He attended the Unitec School of Performing Arts in Auckland and won a Playmarket New Zealand Young Playwright of the Year award in 2000.
After a brief stint on a kiwi soap, he has worked in Search for the past 15 years.
Drew’s other claim to fame is that Stephen Fry once called him droll.
Either that, or he got his name wrong.
He now lives in Wanstead, London.
Twitter: @Drew_Davies
Instagram: @drewdavieswriter

One thought on “#BooksOnTour #BookReview for With Or Without You by Drew Davies @Drew_Davies @Bookouture #WithOrWithoutYou

Comments are closed.