#BlogTour #Review of The Mirror of Pharos by J S Landor @js_landor #MirrorofPharos

pharos tour poster.jpg

Jack Tideswell’s parents died in a diving accident while exploring the underwater ruins of the ancient Pharos lighthouse. So Jack wants nothing to do with adventure. Until that is, a seagull delivers a strange disc, addressed to him in his own handwriting.

In the blink of an eye, all kinds of magic are let loose, sending Jack on a dangerous journey. Can he learn to navigate time before it’s too late to save the one person who can help him unravel the secrets of the disc?

Whether he likes it or not, there’s no more hiding away. And no looking back. Especially when Alpha is watching. A wolf who sees all there is to see …

‘A wonderful mix of magic and reality that reminds me of the early books in the Harry Potter series.’ The Bookbag

 

MY REVIEW

I really enjoyed this book, I was intrigued as soon as I read the blurb for the book and saw the cover, I wasn’t 100% sure what to expect but I am thrilled with what I found!

This is a fantastic story that you don’t want to put down, you need to know what is happening next and how the story will end!  I read it as an adult and devoured it so it certainly appeals to a wide range of ages.  The characters in it are likable an the author has an excellent writing style that flows so well.  This is an excellent debut novel.

Five stars from me – this is such a good book – I really enjoyed it and very highly recommend it – it is a genuine delight to have found this book!!

If you are a member of NetGalley the book is currently available for a limited time as Read Now (the book archives on the 13th February 2018 so be quick!).  Here’s the link: http://netgal.ly/VSVUQU.  You can also order a signed copy of the paperback are available from the author’s website – www.jslandor.com

Pharos

ABOUT ME (BY THE AUTHOR)

I grew up in Luton, an industrial town famous for making hats. Dad was an engineer, Mum was Mum, and my little brother, Steve, was a big pest – and my best friend. Life was fairly ordinary. Until, one day, adventure called. We packed up our belongings in a crate and sailed on an ocean liner to Canada. J_S_Landor

The crossing took a whole week, an epic voyage for a five-year-old. That amount of rolling sea is not easily forgotten! Nor the seagulls. Nor the slot machine that unexpectedly unloaded such a heap of coins I mistakenly thought I was rich. No surprise that years later the ship (or a fictional version of her) sailed right into one of my stories: The Mirror of Pharos.

As an eight-year old returning to primary school in Luton I was the odd one out. When my funny accent caused some teasing I felt sad and missed my old home in Toronto. But some great new friends soon came to the rescue. And by then I was a bookworm so half my buddies were characters in stories anyway!

After school I studied literature at university and edited a magazine called Magus (look out for that word in the story). Later I became a journalist, a farmer and eventually a publishing editor. But all the while another adventure was beckoning. Someone had whispered a secret to me on a school field trip when I was just seven. Looking back it shaped my destiny. It’s the reason I became a storyteller.

Author website:  https://www.jslandor.com/
Twitter : @js_landor 

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review of The Mirror of Pharos by J S Landor @js_landor #MirrorofPharos

  1. Such lovely comments – thank you, Donna! You’ve made my day. How wonderful to have The Mirror of Pharos featured on your blog. Jenny

    Like

Comments are closed.